top of page
Stella

BOHEMIAN STYLED PHOTOSHOOT IN BALI - PART II

Updated: Feb 15, 2020

Photos and tips for 3 Bali photoshoot locations


Music: Heart of Life by John Mayer


Before the Shoot...

  1. Consider investing in a portable steam iron - I bought the Travel Smart by Conair Pro portable Garment Steamer from Qoo10. It was useful for ironing the gowns and suits since they were a bit crumpled from the journey.

  2. Bring a casual outfit (including slippers) - I cannot stress how much I regretted this, not only for the waterfall shots, but also for going to lunch. I ended up going to lunch in my cheongsam because I had no other clothes to change into.

  3. Bring a jacket for sunrise shoots - definitely helpful to wear one until it's time to shoot, because it's really cold in the mornings and especially near the lake/mountainous areas.

  4. Aim to reach a day earlier - especially if you're doing an early morning shoot, don't underestimate the time you'll need to settle in. Book an earlier flight if you can! We took a night flight and there was a jam at customs + from the airport, so we ended up reaching our hotel only at midnight. We barely had 4 hours of sleep before we woke up for the photoshoot.


Location 1: Lake Tamblingan

Our photographer told me beforehand that if we wanted to catch the sunrise here, we would have to stay in the area from the night before as the journey there takes around 2 hours. Despite reaching past the golden hour, our photographer managed to capture some shots like the one above. Our photographer didn't ask us to pay any entrance fee, but the fee to rent the boat is around IDR 600,000.


Some photos to show what the Bqueens cheongsam looked like. The MUA used LOTS of hairspray on my hair because of how windy it was. Of the 3 locations, I liked the experience here the best because the scenery and cooling air was so lovely. Knowing what couch potatoes we are, Janan and I would never have gone there on our own, so it felt like a nice new experience to have together. It was quite scary standing on the boats and all though, and our photographers had a hard time getting us to pose (kept asking me to look at my shoulder and my MUA had to support me whenever we moved).


Location #2: Waterfalls

Shooting at the waterfalls was the worst experience, partly because of poor preparation. I had brought slippers along for the shoot, but didn't take them out of the car as I foolishly thought it was a short walk away. It turned out to be a long, steep and rocky path. I walked in heels while carrying my heavy gown train, regretting my choices all the way down. When we reached the waterfall, I ended up taking off my heels anyway since the rocks were too slippery. The photographer probably thought I was too short for Janan's height without my heels haha, so he made me stand on the rocks (thankfully I was wearing the slippers his assistant lent me). I'm not entirely sure which waterfalls we went to, our photographer told me we were going to either Munduk or Leke Leke waterfalls which are near the lake (I think it's the former). The entrance fees were around 10 to 20 USD.


us looking at insects in the water and hoping they don't come closer


This was the total opposite of the pleasant experience we had at the lake. It was freezing, water was spraying everywhere and we could barely smile. We kept posing head-to-head or cheek-to-cheek because my fringe was flying everywhere (despite the many hairpins my MUA inserted), and Janan's actually using his forehead to kiap my hair hahaha. When we were sitting on the rocks, we saw large insects and had to stay still while freaking out internally. Looking at the photos, all the misery wasn't really worth it since we were in such discomfort and even worse at posing than we normally are. The top photo is the only one I really like because they managed to capture a bit of misty effect at the top.


And as much as I loved this gown, I ended up throwing it away because it was dirty and smelly. We could have sent it for drycleaning back in Singapore, but I decided it wasn't worth the cost. So if you're heading to the waterfalls, definitely pick a casual outfit and sandals!



Location #3: Beach Garden

After heading back to the hotel and getting my make-up touched up, we still had time so I requested for a casual shoot. We didn't specially prepare outfits, and just wore what we had brought for our holiday. Of all the photos we took, I think we looked the most natural in these shots. Probably because we were genuinely talking and laughing about stuff. There was a cute puppy running around the beach, and I kept wanting to play with it (which our photographer took a shot of). Then they had to chase it away and I was sad. He was running circles around us while Janan was carrying me and spinning me around lol.


they cut out the puppy running around below


Styled Shoot

The hotel's beach garden was our last location for the day, and also where we had our styled shoot. I edited the dress so it looks a bit different in the photo above. It's actually more of a V-neck cut. I love the lighting and colouring of this series of photos the most.


Cropped the photo to show the beautiful details of the gown <3


I printed these acrylic vow plates with Bright Eyes Painting for $25 each. It's a bit on the expensive side, but I figured we can put them up in our new home.


I wore an opal ring I bought for around $100+ on Etsy instead of my engagement ring, as I wanted an occasion to wear it and it fits nicely into the Bohemian theme of our shoot.


These are my favourite photos out of all our photoshoots. I love that the lace details look so pretty in the sunset glow.


Honestly, by evening time we were so exhausted we didn't want to smile or pose anymore. I just wanted it to end. But our photographers kept pushing us and themselves for these nice night shots before they called it a day. Our lighting assistant had to keep holding up the reflectors, and the whole team was braving mosquito bites. The photo turned out really nice though, and I love how we are looking at each other here.


One thing I realised after the multiple photoshoots we've had, is that Janan and I are just really bad at posing for photos (our facial expressions and poses cmi). And that's probably why our photos never look as good as the ones we see on the photographer's instagram.


All in all though, I'm happy that we had the chance to take these photos in Bali and that our photographers managed to capture these amazing shots despite their challenging subjects. The Bali Pixtura team took such good care of us, from my MUA literally supporting me at every step of the way, to the photographers braving the elements to take good shots of us. As a bonus, the fried chicken place they brought us was some of the best local food we had, much better than any of the ones we found on our own with Tripadvisor after that.




140 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page