top of page
Stella

FINDING THE ONE AT TGC

Updated: Nov 5, 2019



I like this photo because it shows the intricate patterns that I loved so much. By now, you've probably seen lots of photos of my AD gown throughout this blog and heard lots about The Gown Connoisseur (TGC). Of all the studios I visited, TGC's prices were the most reasonable ($478 in 2018). Ironically, I ended up doing a customized gown for $1200 (despite thinking I would never spend $1000+ on a customized gown), and you'll read why soon enough.


As many other brides have experienced, Michelle is really friendly and always ready to help a bride out in any way. Including sending a list of vendors she partners with, offering rental of fairy lights etc. She's so sincere and gives the best customer service so that you feel like you're visiting a friend everytime you go. Michelle also takes a lot of pride in her work and you can tell she's always thinking of her brides first (rather than her own profits, convenience etc). Now that TGC has moved to their own studio, I'm sure she still does her best to be involved and ensure brides are well-taken care of.

This is what I showed Michelle for reference (left image from this Aliexpress store, right image from Pinterest), and below is what I ended up with. A very close match!

The first 2 photos are the original gown I tried on and booked. When Michelle first brought it out on the hanger, I didn't think I would like it. But when I tried it on, Janan and I both fell in love with it. I felt so happy wearing it as you can tell from the grin on my face. Fast forward many months later, I don't know why but I decided to ask my mum if she preferred me in a white gown. And of course she said yes. I went back to TGC a few times to try finding a white gown I loved as much, but I couldn't. My mum said she would sponsor the difference so just make it white. BUT THEN one month before my wedding, I decided I really liked it better in pink and it shows the patterns so much better and requested that Michelle add on a pink layer of tulle. I feel really bad for the trouble she had to go through, as she actually added on layers of white to hide the pink in the first place and now I was asking her to make it pink again. I expected Michelle to feel annoyed, but she was actually really nice about it and said she also felt like something was missing!


So that's how I ended up with this gown (last 2 photos on the right) that was like the enhanced version of the original. It actually fixed one of the main things that bothered me about the original gown - namely the very structured style skirt instead of a fluffy one - which I wouldn't have been able to change otherwise. Michelle and I also discussed adjustments like having it more high-waisted, adding in glitter so that it's shimmery, and removing the back panel so that it's like an illusion back. As much as I love the gown and the can can helped with moving around, I think if Michelle hadn't had to add the extra layers of tulle to make it white in the first place, it would have been a bit more lightweight and easier to walk around in. It's still a lovely dress that looks so dreamy in photos, and available for rental in TGC ^^

Other white/pink gowns I tried at TGC in search of alternatives. The off-shoulder one is such a princessy dress, and the last 2 photos show the mesh back I like.

One gown, 3 different styles. This was my second choice if I didn't decide to customize a gown. I actually really like the silhouette of the gown with the A-line skirt, and the back view looks like a Pinterest inspiration I loved a lot. And the cheongsam add-on is so gorgeous, Janan loved it too when I showed him the back view. But I didn't like the front that much, and I can't possibly choose a gown where I don't like the front since a lot of the photos will feature it (like the photo right at the top!).

Some coloured gowns I tried on, that also contributed to my ideas for my evening gown. For the pinkish-purple colour, I actually decided on it from the Far East Plaza gown but I knew TGC had a similar one (from stalking their instagram) and wanted to try it out. It was quite heavy and too big for me anyway (in a way that was hard to alter), so I couldn't have rented it even if I wanted to.



Can I just say that I really loved my veil from TGC too! I always thought I would get a long veil with lace trimmings at the side, and wear it Spanish style (as Michelle educated me is the right term). But after trying a lace veil, I saw this and thought it would go perfectly with my gown. It has simple beading along the edges and is a short length.


Since my gown is already elaborate enough with a train at the back, having a simple veil complements it well :). Another reason to stay open with your wedding style choices!


I loved my gown so much, I briefly considered buying it. But after walking around in it for the second day I decided once in a life-time is enough haha.


329 views0 comments

Komentarze


bottom of page